Health First Maternity

BREASTFEEDING SUPPORT



You've probably heard the phrase, "the breast is best." Experts agree that nursing provides ideal nourishment and a special bonding experience that many nursing mothers cherish. But did you know that in addition to nourishment, breast milk's infection-fighting anti-bodies may also help reduce common infant illnesses like ear and respiratory infections?

Our nurses and certified lactation specialists are available to answer your questions and offer personal assistance to new moms.

Lactation Counseling

According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, "Breastfeeding is a natural and beneficial source of nutrition and provides the healthiest start for an infant. In addition to the nutritional benefits, breastfeeding promotes a unique and emotional connection between mother and baby."

As natural as breastfeeding is, sometimes mothers and babies need a little help learning the art of nursing. That's where our lactation specialists can lend a hand. Just ask your caregiver for assistance and their guidance will help moms and newborns get off to a healthy start.

Classes

Cape Canaveral Hospital

Breastfeeding is a learned art. This one session class provides information on the many benefits that breastfeeding brings to your newborn. Topics include changes in breast milk production, positioning the newborn, "latch-on", diet, growth spurts, pumping and storing, and breast care.

For more information, call Administrative Assistant Leslie Becker at 321-868-2701 or e-mail:leslie.becker@health-first.org

Register for Cape Canaveral Hospital Classes
Register Online

At Cape Canaveral Hospital:

Thursday, January 14, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, February 11, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, March 10, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, April 14, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, May 12, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room D
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, June 09, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, July 14, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, August 11, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, September 08, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, October 13, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Thursday, November 10, 2016
Medical Plaza, Conference Room A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Holmes Regional Medical Center

Breastfeeding is a learned art. This one session class provides information on the many benefits that breastfeeding brings to your newborn. Topics include changes in breast milk production, positioning the newborn, "latch-on", diet, growth spurts, pumping and storing, and breast care.

A pre-registration fee of $15.00 per couple is required. We do encourage a support person attend with the expecting mom.

All class dates are subject to change based on attendance.

For more information, call our Maternity Class Coordinator 321-434-7468 or e-mail:HRMC-MaternityCareClasses@health-first.org

Register for Holmes Regional Medical Center Classes
Register Online

At Holmes Regional Medical Center:

Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Auditorium A
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM